GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

One year/10k intervals, really???

EinDog

Hi All,

I’m a noob to the Golf R, so apologies for the naïveté. I come from Japanese cars (Honda/Subaru), which typically run a 3.5k oil change interval. Is it accurate that my first oil change is supposed to happen at 10k miles (or about a year from production)? Seems waaaaay too long. Also, I think my car is slowly burning oil. By the time I get to 10k, it will likely be below or at the bottom of the appropriate deep stick level. What oil should I re-fill it with? Thanks in advance for any info you can provide.

DarkArrow

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
'18 R
With synthetic oils, even Japanese cars do not have a recommended 3.5k mile interval. For example, the civic service schedule says every 7500 miles. The "recommended" 3k interval hasn't been true for over 2 decades.

On my '02 WRX I did 7k mile intervals, where the few UOAs I did seemed just fine. On the VW, I'm too lazy to remember a 7k interval, so I just do every 5k. I also do more track days and short trip driving now, so it puts more wear on the oil. If I wasn't tracking or my commute gets the oil to temp, I would have no problem going to 10k miles.

I haven't burnt any noticeable amount of oil, including 2 track days. It stays dead center of the dipstick.

As for oil, I use German Castrol. It's cheap, it meets VW's standards, and it's readily available at WalMart. Also, AutoZone has unannounced super sales, where it drops to $2/qt, every once in a blue moon.

EinDog

Thanks @DarkArrow. I do 3,750 intervals on my Subaru WRX because I followed the “severe” driving service recommendation (and it was recommended by Subaru for their turbo cars). My commute is bumper-to-bumper traffic everyday. For VW, is there not a distinction between “severe” and “normal” driving conditions that would dictate service schedules?

JerseyDrew77

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 TR GTI S 6MT