Attachments

• 54F56BC6-B97D-4ECC-B8F9-FC57102F8EF1.jpeg
    54F56BC6-B97D-4ECC-B8F9-FC57102F8EF1.jpeg
    264.5 KB · Views: 61

DrFunkalupicus

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 VW GTI S
Finally got around to having my buddy up (sans family) and 'we' knocked out the BFI mounts. By which I mean me, while he had a beer and we caught up. Good times.

I don't know if I was just super lucky, or if I'm a far better mechanic than I thought I was -- the install was easy. Transmission side went super smooth, hardest part about the engine side was figuring out how to safely support the engine. Found torque specs via a ShopDAP video, BFI's website didn't have anything for the engine side. Spec seems awfully low to me, something like 34-44 ft-lbs depending on which bolt. But it hasn't fallen out yet, so that's a plus. Initial reaction is there's very mildly more NVH (mostly noise) than with the Powerflex insert alone, however there does feel like a notable reduction in drivetrain movement. I also did a set of delrin shifter bushings and realigned the shifter, it feels much better now than before. Noise from the SMF is more pronounced now at lower RPMs, I'm likely going to take it to the shop that did the clutch kit install to have them verify the noise is normal alongside having them do the VAQ service.
How did you handle getting to the nuts under the wiring harness? I did mine about a year ago (just the insert) and remember it being a bit of a pain in the ass with those bolts. I have the full mount sitting ready for install and wondered if you may have any tips.

Anthony3o55

Autocross Champion
Dang bro. Iirc you're from Hialeah no? That last rain spell y'all got in Miami was crazy. Is it possible that the gasket meant to seal up the roof and the antenna went out on you and allowed that leak to happen? I'd stat there

Sorry that happened. That freaking sucks.