GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

400whp E85 GTI Roll Racing

Blueballs

Go Kart Newbie
Doesn't anybody race from a dig these days?
Why would anyone choose to dig race a FWD car? It’s literally basic physics that it’s not good in FWD platform. 🤦‍♂️🤷‍♂️

Like another member posted, roll races show the true power a car has compared to another car. There’s less skill involved in a roll race, so I get that to some, racing from a dig might show how skilled of a driver a driver is nowadays, but TBH, with all these automatic drivers nowadays, how much skill is really involved in a dig race? Not much. Plus, dig racing is a lot more strenuous on the car. Whether automatic or manual, the transmission, suspension parts, diff, etc, is all stressed a lot more, which means things will break more often, and to me, just to “prove” I’m a better driver than the other guy isn’t worth it. Nobody is making money off the race, so why???

Last edited:

Blueballs

Go Kart Newbie
Track is ideal but if you have a local spot that is long enough to race from a dig, then why not?

I don't have any issues especially now with the R888R tires. People need to get over the mindset of FWD cars are not able to race from a dig. There are pros that do it with Civics that are tin cans running 8's in the 1/4 mile. Yes, I know, that is a prepped track and different from the street. I was just using that as an example. You just need the supporting suspension mods, sticky tires, and the correct tune.
Okay, so if you KNOW that’s a bad example, then go find a good example and share it with us.

Comparing times of track prepped drag cars to street cars is one of the most illiterate arguments a car enthusiast can make.

Keehs360

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7.5
Why would anyone choose to dig race a FWD car? It’s literally basic physics that it’s not good in FWD platform. 🤦‍♂️🤷‍♂️
A good bit of tq reduction in first gear and some in second will guarantee a clean launch. Good tires help too.