Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2017 GTi Sport DSG
Kinda like the old days of VR6 vs. 1.8T

anotero

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 GTI
I'm not ranting to anyone on this thread, it just popped in my head. I'm a high school teacher and I have students that say how fast their car is all the time. Drives me nuts. One student in particular claims he'd kick my ass in a race. He drives a G35. I keep telling him to take it to the strip.

Sorry if I sounded like I was aiming my rant at anyone. :D:)
Oh god, there are still those G35 kids? I thought those times were long gone.

PS
Just beat his ass, literally.

anotero

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 GTI
Based off some of GTI-Jay's recent posts, I'm think he might be a troll.
I think most of us sin in that respect sometimes. The problem is that some folks take everything that goes on around here waaay too seriously, forgetting we are here to share and learn and just have a good time, not lecture and be lectured to.

GTI-Jay

Ready to race!
Not sure what you mean by "why you'd want a car to do something as important as making sure you're in the right gear for you"

Last time I checked using DSG allows you to be in the gear you select, just as you do in your MT. There is no difference other than not having the 3rd pedal and it's a quicker gear change. DSG has the extra advantage of also being an automatic if one chooses to use it that way in certain situations. WIN/WIN

:confused:

Yeah i know i've had an automatic before. But you should be able to get the point. I don't like a computer doing my gear changing. I'm guessing in 10yrs time you'll be having the same argument about the steering wheel. Well what's the point of holding it, if the computer can do a better job. :rolleyes:

Wrath And Tears

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
17 Sport, 99 E36