GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Helix Soundbox Upgrade Information Post!

flipflp

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
'16 Golf R DSG
Hi all! Saludos from Spain!

I have the Helix sound system installed on my Golf VII Tsi. I find it a good improvement over the stock sound but I think there is still room from improvement.

Has anyone tried the Helix with better speakers? I thought about upgrading the stock ones to something like Gladen Audio, but as the Helix is apparently suited to work with the stock speakers, I am not sure if it would be a worthwhile improvement or not.

Any ideas or experience?

Thanks!

Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk

I wrote a little blurb about upgrading your speakers in post #4 here, but we also had someone who did replace their speakers, discussion is in this post:

https://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29118&highlight=helix+speaker+upgrade

Ironblue

Newbie here! Thanks to this thread, I have installed the Helix system without a hitch, except locking the keys in the radio. Installed the "B" edition into a 2018 GTI SE. WOW big difference to me with the sound, improved clarity, increased bass output, and a better soundstage I don't see how reprogramming could make an improvement. Are you sure they finally haven't got the right code from the start on the "B" model. Needed to lower the bass and treble a bit for my taste. I can turn it up until it hurts my ears without distortion. Very pleased. Thanks for starting this thread flipflp.

flipflp

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
'16 Golf R DSG