GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

MK7 GTI vs 2013 Accord V6 vs 2013 JCW Mini

MK7HOGO

Hey guys, I'm new to the VW world. I previously owned a FRS and this is the first GTI I've owned. The past few months of ownership have been nothing but amazing. This car continues to surprise me on all levels. Right now my car is DSG and 100% stock, except for an AWE catback I installed last weekend.

Anyways, my brother has a 2013 Accord V6, which is also stock, and he has been itching to race me since I got the car. So, it finally happened last night. We did a 40mph roll, and damn I was surprised at how well the GTI kept up with the Accord. He managed to edge me out by half a car @ 100mph. I thought he would have walked me, considering the horsepower advantage he has. This little GTI is just amazing. My old frs would never have stood a chance.

Next up, a race with my buddies JCW Mini. We did a 40mph roll and I managed to pull 2 cars on him near the top of 4th gear. But, the JCW does sound amazing.

I look forward to being a part of the MK7 forum. With the 2016 ecu's unlocked, I have already booked an appointment with my APR dealer for a stage 1 flash and intake. I can't wait to post up more kills and races with the GTI. The performance of this car is unreal :):):)

Stage2Sasquatch

Go Kart Champion
Good story mate, and good first post. Run them again after you tune it and I bet you'll put bus lengths on both.

Yeah it's definitely a different car than the FRS. What you lose in pure driver fun and connection, you gain in comfort, speed, tune-ability, fit and finish, quality, interior space, and practicality. Even light/medium supercharged and light/medium turbocharged GT86's would seem to have issues keeping up with a Stage 1 tune only GTI judging by the quarter mile times.

kidbs

Passed Driver's Ed
You haven't felt anything yet. The difference after a tune is night and day. You're going to love it!

Tk_mkv1

Go Kart Champion