GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Getting on a Track

tfcGTI

Ready to race!
So my MkVI has me itching to get her on a track to see and learn what she really is capable of. I have never done it before and don't know where to begin. Any suggestions for the Southest and in particular Florida?

Tim

raisin racin'

Find your local SCCA (Sports Car Club of America) region through the national SCCA website (www.SCCA.com). The SCCA conducts autocroses (low speed (up to 70 mph) events to home your driving skills) and Performance Driving Experiences (non racing lapping on full size road courses).

Cannon03

Ready to race!
Look up your local BMW club. They'll have some cool and inexpensive driving schools you can attend.

jmk0071

Passed Driver's Ed
If you want to do track events with your GTI, NASA Pro Racing: www.nasaproracing.com. In addition to actual wheel to wheel racing, they have HPDE (highspeed performance driving events) on actual tracks such as Road Atlanta. BMW clubs also have excellent driving schools on race tracks using your street car. If you want to do autocross, SCCA would be a great choice.

Good luck and let us know how your first event goes.

dowright82

WRX Convert
Just finished running about 40 laps around a 1.8 mile road course here in Nashville TN . . .

My car: 2010 2 Door White GTI 6-speed

Bone stock except for

Hawk HP+ Pads (amazing)
TRMotorsports MT-1 17x8 Wheels
Bridgestone RE50 225/45/17 (140 treadwear)

Let me first say I've driven MANY cars hard (WRX, 911 turbo, Legacy GT, Mustang GT, Mercedes 320 kompressor, mercedes sl500 amg)

My impressions of our cars on a track:

AMAZING.

1) XDS is phenomenal, I don't care what you've heard or who you have heard it from

2) Our suspension STOCK is absolutely WONDERFUL on a track. VW got it RIGHT this time. This track was VERY dynamic with lots of off-camber turns, 2 hairpins, and a long straight where I reached about 118-120 before braking for hard left.