GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
FORUM OPTIONS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GOLFMK7 - VW GTI MKVII Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVII Forum > Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2019, 08:01 PM   #1
Bigbat
Junior Member
 
Drives: Golf GT 1.4 TSI ACT
Location: Bedford
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Replacing car battery

Physically replacing the car battery is straightforward but does anything need to be done with the car computer etc?? i.e., so it knows there's a new battery
Bigbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:16 PM   #2
Diggs24
Senior Member
 
Diggs24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 GTI; 2003 Saab 9-3 SS
Location: de plains! de plains!
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11,960
If you have stop/start then yes.
__________________
ED Moose E50 ECU tune / ED DSG Stage 2 tune / Tomioka IHX475 Turbo / IE IC / MAP cat+res DP / Autotech HPFP / PR 450 LPFP / Uni TIP / EQT TMD and Pipes / NT-05s on Asstins / Full Stealth Mode
Diggs24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 09:39 PM   #3
anotero
Senior Member
 
anotero's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk7 GTI S DSG
Location: High Desert, California
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,588
Let the computer know the energy density if the new battery. Also indicate it's a new one so the alternator charges the battery accordingly.
anotero is online now   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.