GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Tips on buying USED wheels

gameaud

Ready to race!
Hey guys i found a nice set of enkeis in my local Facebook group. Guy said its in good condition and from the pics he posted it does look like its in good condition.

Anything to look out for when I actually meet up and inspect the wheels closely besides your typical curb rash?

This is my first time buying aftermarket wheels ever new or used and I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to car stuff. He's selling it pretty cheap, 50% off tire rack prices so I'm kind of cautious... Also anyway i can tell if these are fake/replica enkei instead of real?

Mk5Dom

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2.0 TDI CRBC
Have a good look for cracks and welds throughout.

I'd imagine that Enkei would stamp their part number or code of some sort inside the wheels somewhere. Do you research before you go and find out what the genuine part number should be and check it when you arrive.

Bäsemödel

Go Kart Champion
Can't help you with the real or fake thing but just check for bends. If they are out of round, you're gonna have a bad time. If they have a lot of weights on them, the seller is probably tried to balance them out. Some bends can be balanced out but not all... check for rash like you mentioned. Good luck!

Sandman GTI

Drag Race Newbie
I would make it a condition of the purchase that you be allowed to have them checked by a wheel shop and if issues found, cost be adjusted to you have option to return.

If the wheels are a high cost type I would use a wheel repair shop to check them.
They can check for dents, bends, cracks and also balance.
If a lower cost tire, then a tire shop like Firestone could check them.

Have them checked unless the tires have never been mounted.

But, even new wheels can be damaged in shipping. They must be packaged well.
My wheel repair shop warned against shipping unless there was no way I could drop off.

GTI Jake

Autocross Champion