GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Switched 12V in engine bay?

tabugman

Hi!
I've just installed some aftermarket LED DRLs on my Golf 1.2 TSi. Normally the control box (relay) of such lights is just connected to
- battery +
- ground
- low beam 12V (in order to dim the DRLs when you turn on the low beam). I'll use a t-tap connected to the low beam 12V cable on the headlight harness for this.

Unfortunately the control box that came with my lights doesn't seem to detect when the engine is started, which means the DRLs are always on, even if the car is completely turned off. This means I need to find 12V that's switched on with the ignition.

My car is a European version with halogen headlights if that matters.

To make a long story short: does anyone have any ideas on where to find switched 12V in the engine bay? :)

Last edited:

tabugman

I brought out my volt meter and went over the fuses in the engine bay, but was unable to find switched 12V unfortunately. :(

Might be I'm a noob though.

nobbo

Passed Driver's Ed
i have some SMD lights i tried fitting as DRL but also couldnt find an ignition live fuse. only other option is to scotch lock the live wire to the DRL wire from the headlights

tabugman

i have some SMD lights i tried fitting as DRL but also couldnt find an ignition live fuse. only other option is to scotch lock the live wire to the DRL wire from the headlights

Yep. It seems there are two options:
1) Run a 12V switched live from the fuse box under the the steering wheel. This means going through the firewall somehow.
2) Tap into the factory DRL (the wire feeding the smaller filament inside the H15 DRL/High beam lamp).

The latter was suggested to me today by a local VW technician. The only problem I have with this approach is that the LED DRLs would go completely dark when I turn on the low beam headlights, since the factory DRLs are turned off at this point.