GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Golf MK7 2018 1.8 TSI Exhaust Modification Removed Secondary Cat

mgshuheb

Car(s)
2018 VW Golf 1.8 TSI
Hello all, newbie here.

I'm not too familiar with the vocab around each part of the exhaust system - so please take it easy.

I recently had my stock exhaust cut and made into a straight y pipe. He removed the secondary cat and then welded on a straight Y pipe. Now I get no back pressure and so on so I want to change it and do it properly and buy this one: https://www.awe-tuning.com/mk7-golf-18t-exhaust-suite

Do you think if I had this installed I would be okay with no tuning needed? Also, my down pipe should be in tact with the primary cat, right?

mgshuheb

Car(s)
2018 VW Golf 1.8 TSI
You don't need tuning for a cat-back exhaust

But on the other hand...I'm not sure what you did with the "straight Y pipe" or whatever
I was an idiot and didn't know much except that I wanted a Y pipe style exhaust - didn't even think of the ramifications of what I was about to do. My current setup up has the stock down pipe with only one cat as the secondary one has been removed.

tigeo

Autocross Champion
Which car here? Fwd or awd hatch or wagon?

MeltedSolid

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
'15 Golf, e36 328i
So by Y pipe do you mean half the exhaust dumps out straight underneath the cabin?

Sparky589

Drag Racing Champion
Did the exhaust shop dump the cat or is it still lying around somewhere?

mgshuheb

Car(s)
2018 VW Golf 1.8 TSI
Hello all - been Away a while - but this is an issue still. The cat has been dumped/sold I don’t know. I have one car still on there and the exhaust has been split into two pipes aka Y pipe.

Attachments

• D9188B3F-BAB4-447E-81F8-341EEE8BC3E0.png
    D9188B3F-BAB4-447E-81F8-341EEE8BC3E0.png
    66.7 KB · Views: 139

Fried_Soap

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2017 Golf TSI 5MT