GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Clutch fluid replacement for 30,000 mi service

allthatiszen

Hey folks,

Newbie here looking for some input from others. I have a 2016 GTI 6-speed manual with 38k miles (purchased with 24k miles in March of 2018) that still has another year of Certified Pre-Owned left on it as of today.

I took it to the dealership on Black Friday to have new front brake pads/rotors and 4 brand new tires. I picked it up at the end of the day, and when I drove it later on that night (after the dealership was closed), any acceleration past halfway on the gas pedal, the RPMs would fly up but my speed didn't (slipping out of gear). This NEVER happened before.

Emailed the dealership (closed for the weekend) and told someone to contact me ASAP, which they did the following Monday. The soonest they could get me in (somehow) was yesterday, 12/10/2019. At the end of the day, I was contacted and told that my clutch was failing and needed to be replaced.

In March of 2019 (this year), I had it in for a coolant issue (cracked thermostat housing and water pump replacement) as well as for my 30k mi service. The coolant issue was covered under CPO warranty. According to VW, 30k mi service includes replacing the clutch fluid at 30k mi or 3 years (whichever comes first) and then every 2 years after that. My paperwork doesn't list that as being done at all.

I asked the dealership if they could see that clutch fluid was replaced. The service woman stated that, because the dealership underwent management change in October of this year, that their documentation was a bit different than the previous ownership, but that she saw nothing regarding the clutch. This task is not documented and I have the paperwork that doesn't mention anything about the clutch at all.