GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Wheels. Tell me what I need to know!

Scotty1

Passed Driver's Ed
As I've said many times I know very little about the mechanics or jargon of cars so please treat me as a complete novice.

If I wanted to change the alloys of a Golf Match what do I need to look for on the aftermarket product

Thanks

phope1

Ready to race!
The bolt pattern or PCD (pitch circle diameter) is 5x112
The centre bore size is 57.1mm
The offset or ET (German - 'Einpresstiefe') differs according to the various models but is typically 49-51 for Golf 7 cars

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheel_sizing gives you a good idea

For aftermarket wheels, you will likely need replacement wheel bolts to fit correctly into the wheels - some wheels use a tapered style bolt and others use a radiused style

Last edited:

phope1

Ready to race!
I think the Match model has 205/55R16 sized tyres on 16" sized wheels, with a 6.5 inch wheel width

If I were you, I would keep the tyre sizes the same as VW uses on their other Golf models which are 225/45R17 tyres on a 17" wheel with a 7 inch wheel width, 225/40R18 on an 18" wheel with a 7.5 inch wheel width or 225/35R19 on a 19" wheel with an 8 inch wheel width.

and that's before you even start playing with non-standard widths and sizes...

Scotty1

Passed Driver's Ed
That was everything I wanted and more! Thank you so much.

In reality I don't want to go crazy with them, I'm just not overly excited about the standard 'Dover' ones on the match. I may even just order the 17" 'Singapore' or 18" 'Serron' ones that VW offer. Assuming the Match can handle 18" without damaging mpg too much

phope1

Ready to race!
Ebay often throws up some good bargains for OEM wheels, as does Ebay.de (with the Euro being weak just now, you can benefit)

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Reifenprofi-de-Shop is a good start on Ebay Germany, or do a search for " original golf 7 felgen " which should get you quite a few results

Last edited:

golfdave