GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Noob, wheel info.

AntErrickson

Passed Driver's Ed
Car(s)
2016 VW GTI Autobahn
Hey All,

I’m a noob to the mod scene, loved it but never actually got into it.

Now I have a 16 GTI autobahn that I want to do stuff to.

It’s coming time for me to need new tires and I figured it’s the right time to start my wheel and possibly suspension setup.

I want to flush my wheels with the stock fenders, front and back with no rubbing.

Wheels: I think the wheels I want to go with are Rotiform KBS (18x8.5) Not really 100% sure of the offset, they come in 35 or 45. I want thinking 35 (middle ground? No rubbing?) Currently I have stock VW Austin’s and they are tucked just a tad. (18x7.5x49mm I think)

tires: looking for an all season. I was thinking. (In no particular order)
1. Yokohama Advan sport a/s
2. Hankook Ventis S1 Noble 2 (oem)
3. Michelin Pilot sport all season 4
4. Continental extreme contact dws 06

suspension: I want to keep the car sort of feeling stock, but want to lower it a bit too. So the wheel gap isn’t as noticeable. I was thinking sport springs, but I really don’t want to end up the way the car rides.

I love some input on my thoughts about, since you gang are more experienced in this sort of thing that me.
Thanks
Ant.

daconchslop

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
ACS SE/Tech
18x8.5 et45 will be flush.
Michelin PSAS4
Probably don’t want lowering springs on your factory struts/shocks if they’ve got more than 50k on them already. Look into a better matched setup or coils.

vbrad26

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
'15 CSG GTI 2DR M/T
I was going to say pretty much the same thing ^^^^
You can get a spring with a mild drop like the Driver Gear (DG) springs and probably be ok for a while though...
But certainly something to keep in mind. And while you are there, there are bushings and mounts you can and probably should replace too.

AntErrickson

Passed Driver's Ed
Car(s)
2016 VW GTI Autobahn
Ok, that helps a ton. Thanks!