GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Upper echelon mods

afman916

Ready to race!
I was going to post this in General Discussion, but thought it might be more appropriate here as it's performance-minded. Mods, feel free to move if need be.

So, I've been quietly amassing parts and planning the build of my '16 SE 6spd. I'm a financial analyst by trade, so I've got a pretty thorough Excel spreadsheet going, where I'm breaking down my mod path into stages and keeping a running tally of new/used/actual expenses.

However, I find that the more I browse the forums, the more "scope creep" I find happening in my spreadsheet. So I wanted to come to you guys and ask -

For a 90% DD GTI (planning on a HPDE class and, after that, occasional track days), at what point do some of these mods become impractical given cost:benefit ratio?

Some off the top of my head I've added over the past week (spreadsheet is at home, not on work computer):

Superpro LCA
TyrolSport deadset kit
Fluidampr pulley
034 Engine/Tranny mounts

I'm struggling with where to draw the line, given my intent with the car (primarily "street beast", let's say). What doesn't help my struggling is that, while I have a decent basic understanding of automotive mechanics, some of these things are beyond my grasp. I guess it would help if I had a resource to consult, something that would help me understand where some of these parts fit in so I could better assess their value for my needs.

How do some of you guys determine whether or not a part is "worth it"? Are there any resources out there you rely on for furthering your mechanical know-how?

I thought I had this all figured out a couple weeks ago, but now I fear I'm falling TOO far down the mod black hole. Any thoughts/guidance much appreciated!

drrck

Go Kart Champion