GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Recommendations for an OBD diagnostics tool

Banzai62

Car(s)
VW Golf Mk7 1.4tsi
Hi All,
Before my next MOT I need to replace the front/rear discs and pads and although I'm happy doing the mechanical work I can see I need to retract the e-brake piston before doing the job.
Seems this needs an OBD diagnostic tool but as I'm new to working on modern vehicles and I'm not sure what to buy.
Can someone please steer me in the direction of a suitable piece of kit that I can link to either laptop, android tablet or ios?
I'm UK based if that matters.
Thanks in advance. Rob.

Finglonga

Drag Racing Champion
OBDEleven Or Carly. Most likely someone may be close to you that have one and can lend it to you for some Beer Tokens. Both of them will work off a cheap Android phone best.

BudgetPhoenix

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2009 GLI, 2016 GTI
I have both and find myself mostly just using OBDeleven for the convenience. The only thing I hate more than VCDS is the logging but it works just fine otherwise.

DerHase

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2019 GTI Rabbit
The VCDS community in general actually knows what they're doing. It's been around forever. It's a professional tool that actual techs can use.

It's my anecdotal observation that the OBD11 crowd is moreso attracted to the easy one button push coding type stuff, even though sometimes it doesn't do what is actually intended etc. Also fuck their subscription model (which you need to do any coding from what I understand). I'll give it that it looks convenient in general, but that can be a blessing and a curse when you're just looking for new "problems" that may or may not exist.

I have Simos Tools for actual ECU and DSG logging which is way better than anything else available. And cheaper too (free Android app + $80 dongle).

dvw.r

Passed Driver's Ed
Car(s)
MK7.5 R
I use ODIS-E/S or iDeX (genuine vas), VCDS (genuine) and an OBD11.