GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Rallycrossed the R! And to those who think Halex is all FWD.......

buyingconstant7

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2007 GTI 3 Door 6spd
So I was convinced by a friend to do some rallycross on a frozen lake, and do some ice racing! I paid the $70 and got a car number and was assigned to the AWD class and went around a very narrow and windy track as fast as I could and for my first time, I did awesome! My tires were not studded and my friend in his modified 2006 Subaru STI, were studded, so his lap times were about a 1:30, while mine were 1:50, but from what I heard(haven't seen the results yet), I did post the fastest lap time in my class of AWD non-studded cars, which I think is darn impressive, given that this is my first time, and I went up against modified Evo's, STI's, and the sort. And to those who think Haldex is all front wheel biased, and the rear wheels are barely involved, watch the bottom clip. That is my car launching on my 3rd or 4th lap, uploaded by my friend.

Overlooking Ghost Lake

SO MUCH RICE! I was the only Volkswagen, apart from a Mk4 Jetta Diesel

So photogenic even covered in snow!

This lap I screwed up badly and went too far into the 'wall'.

Yeah......:eek:

And the Launch Video Clip:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEA9G5y6RPo&list=LLvoc4-tl75spaP5jKmgK7VA&index=1

Last edited:

cooljoe

Passed Driver's Ed
Wow, this is really cool :D! I auto x'd my R and loved it, I'm a little jealous that you got to take yours off-road in the snow. As for the rear wheel spin, the Haldex is maximum 50/50 torque split and given that the weight is over the front tires, I'd expect that the back ones have a bit less resistance, therefore they spin more with the same amount of torque applied. Pretty cool to see it in slow motion though ;)

edge04

Ready to race!
few events like this in the Midwest but no snow right now. sucks as snow cross is fun and I'm dying to do it in the R

Firstboost

Go Kart Champion