GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

European Alpine 9" Infotainment...Will it work?

OtterlyClueless

Well let me begin by saying, "YES". The Alpine X902D-G7 (incl. variants i902D-G7, X901D-G7, i901D-G7) high-end audio and navigation system with 9" touch screen and Alpine Style trim that makes for seamless integration does indeed function properly if installed in the US version of the Mk7 GTI. If your Golf has the Fender audio system then the Alpine system will require an additional little black box to process the signal coming through the MOST cable.

I had been weighing my options on stereo upgrades for my 2015 GTI SE for some time. The best option kept coming up as the Alpine X901D-G7. Ebay has lots of units that seem similar, but I refuse to purchase electronics that are not made by a well known brand. The other systems also had no support for the wealth of standard car functions that are managed through the stock stereo.

There were quite a few forum posts on people speculating if the system would work when installed into the US spec Golf MK7, but not one was able to give concrete answers.

Unfortunately Alpine only sells this unit in European countries with no plans to bring it to the US. The unit is also quite expensive ranging from $1,000 to $1,600+ depending on the exact model and where it is purchased. In my case the Alpine i902D-G7 I purchased from a seller in Milan, Italy required an
extra $300 interface to function with my car's Fender branded audio.

I decided to take a leap of faith, typed in my cred card information, and waited.

I guess I can just make a list of some observations that people may be interested in.

• The official YouTube install video is rediculously fast and cuts out all of the cursing and bloodied knuckles
  • The install manual is rather vague and written for a European spec Mk7 which, come to find out, has a completely different center console that is worlds easier to work with than the US counterpart