GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
FORUM OPTIONS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GOLFMK7 - VW GTI MKVII Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVII Forum > Volkswagen GTI / Golf MK7 General Topics > GTI & Golf MK7 General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2019, 02:33 PM   #1
foylema
Junior Member
 
Drives: MK7 Golf R
Location: Australia
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Talking Mk7 R intermediate Problem

Hello

I have a bit of a weird problem with my 2015 Golf R. Since have it tuned ive been having a issue when i give the car some beans it cuts power and feels like it running on 2cy untill i take my foot completely off the accelerator. It will then be fine again. After this happeneds and i come to a complete stop i get a error on the dash Error Stop start system. This error appears every time that the car seems to run on 2cy. I have look uo fault codes and there are 0 everytime. Ive taken it back to the tuner and they say they cant find anything wrong with the file and this has never happened before. Can anyone shead some light on this issue im having. Cheers
foylema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 02:58 PM   #2
Diggs24
Senior Member
 
Diggs24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 GTI; 2003 Saab 9-3 SS
Location: de plains! de plains!
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11,687
Detune it and see if it persists. If it doesn't then your tuner is at fault.
__________________
ED Moose E50 ECU tune / ED DSG Stage 2 tune / Tomioka IHX475 Turbo / IE IC / MAP cat+res DP / Autotech HPFP / PR 450 LPFP / Uni TIP / EQT TMD and Pipes / NT-05s on Asstins / Full Stealth Mode
Diggs24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 03:15 PM   #3
foylema
Junior Member
 
Drives: MK7 Golf R
Location: Australia
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
I have a dump pipe so i cant go back.
foylema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 03:15 PM   #4
Strange Mud
Senior Member
 
Strange Mud's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 GTI Thumper
Location: Small Town CT
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,372
if you can go back to stock this will tell you if tune or coincidence and something else.


nvm you posted while i was typing
__________________
My glass is half-full of empty
Strange Mud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 03:21 PM   #5
Diggs24
Senior Member
 
Diggs24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 GTI; 2003 Saab 9-3 SS
Location: de plains! de plains!
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by foylema View Post
I have a dump pipe so i cant go back.
Makes no sense. Of course you can go back to stock file.
__________________
ED Moose E50 ECU tune / ED DSG Stage 2 tune / Tomioka IHX475 Turbo / IE IC / MAP cat+res DP / Autotech HPFP / PR 450 LPFP / Uni TIP / EQT TMD and Pipes / NT-05s on Asstins / Full Stealth Mode
Diggs24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 03:21 PM   #6
foylema
Junior Member
 
Drives: MK7 Golf R
Location: Australia
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
All good mate. Ive had a basic tune they put in the car and the problem went away. Now i have the stage 2 back in and it doing it again. It will go weeks without a problem then it will do it again. Its hard to know straight away if it is fixrd or not which is the hard part.
foylema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 03:22 PM   #7
foylema
Junior Member
 
Drives: MK7 Golf R
Location: Australia
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggs24 View Post
Makes no sense. Of course you can go back to stock file.
Engine light will come on due to no cat. Plus it would over boost possibly?
foylema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 03:37 PM   #8
Diggs24
Senior Member
 
Diggs24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 GTI; 2003 Saab 9-3 SS
Location: de plains! de plains!
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by foylema View Post
All good mate. Ive had a basic tune they put in the car and the problem went away. Now i have the stage 2 back in and it doing it again. It will go weeks without a problem then it will do it again. Its hard to know straight away if it is fixrd or not which is the hard part.
Quote:
Originally Posted by foylema View Post
Engine light will come on due to no cat. Plus it would over boost possibly?
So, the basic tune has no issues but the stage 2 does? Very weird.

Isn't the start/stop system adjustable? We don't have it on our GTIs but I read you could turn it off. Perhaps try that.

Yes, you will have a CEL for o2 sensor, but no it won't overboost and it won't cause any issues.
__________________
ED Moose E50 ECU tune / ED DSG Stage 2 tune / Tomioka IHX475 Turbo / IE IC / MAP cat+res DP / Autotech HPFP / PR 450 LPFP / Uni TIP / EQT TMD and Pipes / NT-05s on Asstins / Full Stealth Mode
Diggs24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 09:40 PM   #9
foylema
Junior Member
 
Drives: MK7 Golf R
Location: Australia
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggs24 View Post
So, the basic tune has no issues but the stage 2 does? Very weird.

Isn't the start/stop system adjustable? We don't have it on our GTIs but I read you could turn it off. Perhaps try that.

Yes, you will have a CEL for o2 sensor, but no it won't overboost and it won't cause any issues.
I have tried turning off the stop-start with the OBDEleven and no difference.

It's hard because it can be fine for weeks then do it again so it hard to know if it has fixed it or its just behaving haha.
foylema is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.