GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
FORUM OPTIONS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GOLFMK7 - VW GTI MKVII Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVII Forum > Technical Topics > Infotainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2018, 07:42 PM   #35
ofektal8
Member
 
Drives: 2014 mk7 golf tsi 1.2l
Location: israel
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHWP View Post
So, update on this...

I bought and fitted the MIB1 Discover Media unit together with a GPS antenna and Fakra lead connecting it. The sat nav and other functions worked as far as was allowed by the component protection being active. I had component protection removed today and now the sat nav does not work - gives a message of - 'Navigation: function is not supported' and when the phone button is pressed it says - 'Telephone not available'. I have not done any coding yet with VCDS. Can anyone help?

Thanks.
You Will Need to activate NAV just like you activate app connect, only a dealer can

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
ofektal8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 07:48 PM   #36
George Ab
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI MK7, BMW E90
Location: Pacific NW
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 911
The article by Shapeshifter applies to modified unit (or hacked in authors words) and non-modified unitís differences and what needs to be done to get them working. http://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30577


These are the FeC's I know of from my MIB1 to MIB2 conversion article. https://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31600



For reference, these are the FeCís I know of:
5G0054830A - App-Connect $208
5G0054809 - Driving Modes. $118
5G0054802 - Voice Activation. $138.
5G0054802A - Voice Activation with Navigation. $230
5G0054801 - Driver Alert.
No FeC for Performance Monitor that I know of.
George Ab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 08:43 PM   #37
IWMTom
Senior Member
 
IWMTom's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk7 1.6 TDI Match
Location: North East England
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHWP View Post
So, update on this...

I bought and fitted the MIB1 Discover Media unit together with a GPS antenna and Fakra lead connecting it. The sat nav and other functions worked as far as was allowed by the component protection being active. I had component protection removed today and now the sat nav does not work - gives a message of - 'Navigation: function is not supported' and when the phone button is pressed it says - 'Telephone not available'. I have not done any coding yet with VCDS. Can anyone help?

Thanks.
The dealer didn't get the FeCs transferred over - get them to sort it
IWMTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 09:52 PM   #38
JHWP
Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen MK7 Golf GTD
Location: Ireland
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 86
Some good info here, thanks.

IWMTom - you went from Composition Media (MIB1?) to Discover Pro Navigation MIB2 if I am correct? Did you retrofit a hacked unit or a non hacked unit? From shapeshifter's thread here- https://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30577 if I now understand correctly, there is no way of having navigation working on a non hacked unit? When CP is removed and the link is made with the servers in Germany, the servers send back the info related to the VIN of the car being worked on, in this case one that does not have navigation fitted from the factory but... what is odd is that the original unit had a phone button which worked and now does not so that would seem the FEC for at least that (and presumably more) have not been done correctly. To be honest the dealer hadn't a clue what they were doing I don't believe and at first told me they weren't sure that they could remove component protection. They charged me Ä71 to do it.
JHWP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 10:37 PM   #39
IWMTom
Senior Member
 
IWMTom's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk7 1.6 TDI Match
Location: North East England
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHWP View Post
Some good info here, thanks.

IWMTom - you went from Composition Media (MIB1?) to Discover Pro Navigation MIB2 if I am correct? Did you retrofit a hacked unit or a non hacked unit? From shapeshifter's thread here- https://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30577 if I now understand correctly, there is no way of having navigation working on a non hacked unit? When CP is removed and the link is made with the servers in Germany, the servers send back the info related to the VIN of the car being worked on, in this case one that does not have navigation fitted from the factory but... what is odd is that the original unit had a phone button which worked and now does not so that would seem the FEC for at least that (and presumably more) have not been done correctly. To be honest the dealer hadn't a clue what they were doing I don't believe and at first told me they weren't sure that they could remove component protection. They charged me Ä71 to do it.
Yes, I used a hacked unit.

Transferring the FeCs is a seperate step that needs to be done after removing CP.
IWMTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 10:45 PM   #40
JHWP
Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen MK7 Golf GTD
Location: Ireland
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 86
OK, thanks. Because my unit is not hacked, will it work if the FeC’s are transferred by the dealer though? My understanding (which may be wrong) is the FeC’s/options are unique to the VIN as stored on the servers in Germany and because this car does not have navigation from the factory, the relevant info will not be sent to it from Germany and as a result the navigation won’t work?

Last edited by JHWP; 08-24-2018 at 07:04 AM.
JHWP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 09:20 AM   #41
IWMTom
Senior Member
 
IWMTom's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk7 1.6 TDI Match
Location: North East England
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHWP View Post
OK, thanks. Because my unit is not hacked, will it work if the FeCís are transferred by the dealer though? My understanding (which may be wrong) is the FeCís/options are unique to the VIN as stored on the servers in Germany and because this car does not have navigation from the factory, the relevant info will not be sent to it from Germany and as a result the navigation wonít work?
You'll never have navigation if your car didn't come with navigation originally, unless you get a hacked unit
IWMTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 08:35 PM   #42
JHWP
Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen MK7 Golf GTD
Location: Ireland
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 86
Fantastic. I wish I'd known that before buying a screen and main unit and a GPS antenna and a Fakra lead and two sets of radio release keys and then removing the old unit and fitting the replacement unit and then paying to have component protection removed. The whole point of this was to add navigation to this car. Total waste of time and money it would seem.

There is definitely no way to get navigation working on a genuine (non hacked) Discover Navigation unit taken from a car that came with navigation from the factory and has been then fitted into a car that did not have navigation from the factory?
JHWP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 08:37 PM   #43
ofektal8
Member
 
Drives: 2014 mk7 golf tsi 1.2l
Location: israel
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHWP View Post
Fantastic. I wish I'd known that before buying a screen and main unit and a GPS antenna and a Fakra lead and two sets of radio release keys and then removing the old unit and fitting the replacement unit and then paying to have component protection removed. The whole point of this was to add navigation to this car. Total waste of time and money it would seem.

There is definitely no way to get navigation working on a genuine (non hacked) Discover Navigation unit taken from a car that came with navigation from the factory and has been then fitted into a car that did not have navigation from the factory?
Im Pretty Sure you can send it to someone so he can hack it.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
ofektal8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 10:06 PM   #44
IWMTom
Senior Member
 
IWMTom's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk7 1.6 TDI Match
Location: North East England
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHWP View Post
Fantastic. I wish I'd known that before buying a screen and main unit and a GPS antenna and a Fakra lead and two sets of radio release keys and then removing the old unit and fitting the replacement unit and then paying to have component protection removed. The whole point of this was to add navigation to this car. Total waste of time and money it would seem.

There is definitely no way to get navigation working on a genuine (non hacked) Discover Navigation unit taken from a car that came with navigation from the factory and has been then fitted into a car that did not have navigation from the factory?
Not without hacking it.

The navigation is pants anyway - just use Waze.
IWMTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 01:33 PM   #45
JHWP
Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen MK7 Golf GTD
Location: Ireland
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 86
Any tips or info on getting it hacked? I'm thinking the cost will make it completely not worthwhile to achieve what MIB1 Discover Navigation offers in terms of performance. Can I even get it hacked now that component protection has been removed by the dealer?
JHWP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 09:04 PM   #46
Irmscher
Junior Member
 
Drives: VW GOLF 2.0 TDI
Location: Slovenia
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
I have same problem.

Car came original without navi, I bought screen + unit MIB2, gps and sc card, went to VW dealer, they remove CP, navi worked until I didn't switch off car, now it doen't start, if I disconnect/connect unit screen works, navi no (please insert ....) until switch off car.

Any solutions/help ?
Irmscher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 09:16 PM   #47
ofektal8
Member
 
Drives: 2014 mk7 golf tsi 1.2l
Location: israel
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irmscher View Post
I have same problem.

Car came original without navi, I bought screen + unit MIB2, gps and sc card, went to VW dealer, they remove CP, navi worked until I didn't switch off car, now it doen't start, if I disconnect/connect unit screen works, navi no (please insert ....) until switch off car.

Any solutions/help ?
As said before, if you didnt have nav from factory, you will need to hack your current system.
the options will be open when CP Is Active. after its removed you will only have what you got from factory.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
ofektal8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 12:47 PM   #48
Irmscher
Junior Member
 
Drives: VW GOLF 2.0 TDI
Location: Slovenia
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
You mean hack unit or car system?

Who can hack?

Check PM
Irmscher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 01:16 PM   #49
ofektal8
Member
 
Drives: 2014 mk7 golf tsi 1.2l
Location: israel
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irmscher View Post
You mean hack unit or car system?

Who can hack?

Check PM
You Need to take the unit thats In The Glovebox, and give it to someone who can hack it. I Dont really know who does that because I dont live in the US. but do your research

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
ofektal8 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.