GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
FORUM OPTIONS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   GOLFMK7 - VW GTI MKVII Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVII Forum > Technical Topics > DIY Guides and Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2017, 03:51 PM   #18
Chillout
Senior Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTE
Location: the Netherlands
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprinks View Post
Crazy idea to get the collective geniuses thinking here: What's the situation on swapping the 7.5 display in with the mib2?
You can do it, but you need a high software version, like 1161.
Chillout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 04:41 PM   #19
sprinks
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI Mk7
Location: Charlottesville VA
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,116
Good to know. Just bought a mibII brain and was looking at this when i came across the 7.5 display. I guess it'll come down to what the brain software shows up as (i'm gonna guess older). I take it no easy way to update software on the mibII units still, correct?
__________________
P E T R O L P I N T S Enthusiast Inspired Pintglasses

wheelwell & GTI mk7 journal
sprinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 05:24 PM   #20
Chillout
Senior Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTE
Location: the Netherlands
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 623
Most of the updates are easy to do over SD-card.
Chillout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 09:32 PM   #21
sprinks
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI Mk7
Location: Charlottesville VA
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,116
But that SD is limited to VW dealer network, correct?
__________________
P E T R O L P I N T S Enthusiast Inspired Pintglasses

wheelwell & GTI mk7 journal
sprinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 10:17 PM   #22
Chillout
Senior Member
 
Drives: Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTE
Location: the Netherlands
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprinks View Post
But that SD is limited to VW dealer network, correct?
officially, yes
Chillout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 10:39 PM   #23
sprinks
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI Mk7
Location: Charlottesville VA
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,116
You coy dog you. All this scheming has me then toying with the idea of the bog standard 7.5 discover or the 7.5's discover pro.
http://st.automobilemag.com/uploads/...r-overview.jpg (linked because it's a huge picture).
Drool.
__________________
P E T R O L P I N T S Enthusiast Inspired Pintglasses

wheelwell & GTI mk7 journal
sprinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 06:07 AM   #24
sportwagen3
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
Anybody know where I can buy the app Connect activation code?
sportwagen3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 08:18 PM   #25
sprinks
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI Mk7
Location: Charlottesville VA
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Ab View Post
Parts:

VW Car Connect Activation Code: $240 shipped. http://www.allcarpartsfast.co.uk/vw-...830a-document/
or ebay
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-VW...gAAOSwDehZnoVS
__________________
P E T R O L P I N T S Enthusiast Inspired Pintglasses

wheelwell & GTI mk7 journal
sprinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:15 PM   #26
GolfWang
Senior Member
 
GolfWang's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 Night Blue DSG S
Location: Flipadelphia
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,033
Does anyone know if I could just leave my MIB1 as-is, and replace the MDI connector with the MIB2's Aux/USB? I will probably do the full MIB2 retrofit in the next 2 years, but until then I cannot stand the lack of an aux cord.
GolfWang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:57 PM   #27
danjam
Junior Member
 
danjam's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 GTI
Location: nova
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by GolfWang View Post
Does anyone know if I could just leave my MIB1 as-is, and replace the MDI connector with the MIB2's Aux/USB? I will probably do the full MIB2 retrofit in the next 2 years, but until then I cannot stand the lack of an aux cord.
USB/aux only works with the mib2

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
__________________
NCE MRMT: '15 GTI CSG SE PP LP 6MT
danjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 05:28 PM   #28
sprinks
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI Mk7
Location: Charlottesville VA
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,116
I have finally got all my pieces for the swap. Guess that means maybe i'll be installing this weekend.
__________________
P E T R O L P I N T S Enthusiast Inspired Pintglasses

wheelwell & GTI mk7 journal
sprinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 01:42 PM   #29
ARi
Member
 
Drives: Golf 7 GTD
Location: U.K.
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 39
What needs to be done to use mib1 amp on a mib2 unit

TIA
ARi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 02:08 PM   #30
danjam
Junior Member
 
danjam's Avatar
 
Drives: '15 GTI
Location: nova
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARi View Post
What needs to be done to use mib1 amp on a mib2 unit

TIA
A lot. You can get a hacked mib1 to work with it. Otherwise you'll need to swap with an mib2 amp.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
__________________
NCE MRMT: '15 GTI CSG SE PP LP 6MT
danjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 09:15 PM   #31
ARi
Member
 
Drives: Golf 7 GTD
Location: U.K.
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 39
Thanks for reply

Do you know where I can get a hacked unit in uk or delivered to uk
ARi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 08:43 PM   #32
sportwagen3
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
Any instructions on how to route the wire for the usb/aux? Did you remove panels on the passenger side or did you remove the glove box? If so, how did you do it?
sportwagen3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 08:55 PM   #33
sprinks
Senior Member
 
Drives: GTI Mk7
Location: Charlottesville VA
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,116
I believe someone here has mentioned previously they basically used a thin stiff wire (think coat hanger straightened) to run the wire over to the glovebox area. That's the way i'll likely approach it as well.
__________________
P E T R O L P I N T S Enthusiast Inspired Pintglasses

wheelwell & GTI mk7 journal
sprinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 04:56 AM   #34
sportwagen3
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
I figured it out. Found that partially moving the glove box made it a lot easier to fish the wires.
sportwagen3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.