GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

wheel spacers

Turbo V

Ready to race!
Does one always have to thread new studs into the rotor to have wheel spacers for them to be safe? i.e. so that the lug nuts can grab enough stud. Is this hard to do? Thank you.

Turbo V

Ready to race!
You mean a stud conversion??

If so.....no, you can use spacers with the correct (longer) lug bolts without issues

No not conversion. Just to bring wheels out to the edge of fender for looks. I was reading a lot of people run spacers here but I also read online that it can be dangerous if studs are not long enough for lug nuts to grab with the spacers installed. Don't want any problems :). But I don't know how to pull out stock studs and thread new ones in. I mean I've never done anything like that before and I have a feeling its an all or none affair.

George Ab

Drag Racing Champion
My MK7 GTI does not use studs and nuts, but a bolt. I added an 8mm spacer on the rear and purchased longer bolts. When you look at the wheel and see the threads you are screwing the bolt into there are about seven threads. You want to make sure you use them all.

Post #19 by ECS of this thread http://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6357&highlight=front+rear+offset provides a pdf "how to" check for and use proper thread length of bolt.

Turbo V

Ready to race!
My MK7 GTI does not use studs and nuts, but a bolt. I added an 8mm spacer on the rear and purchased longer bolts. When you look at the wheel and see the threads you are screwing the bolt into there are about seven threads. You want to make sure you use them all.

Post #19 by ECS of this thread http://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6357&highlight=front+rear+offset provides a pdf "how to" check for and use proper thread length of bolt.

Thank you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Turbo V

Ready to race!
We also have stud conversion kits if you would like to go that route too.

Andy