GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Vargas Turbo Build - 2017 GTI SE

CrossFit67

Ready to race!
Hi,

I'll be documenting my big turbo build here on this thread. I just unboxed my VTT turbo and have included a few pictures below. A little about me and my car: I'm a 52 yo Army Veteran currently working as a professional photographer near Atlanta, GA. I've owned and modded a few cars in my day, but this is my first VW. It's a 2017 GTI SE that I purchased in January 2019 with 6K miles on it. Let me just say that I LOVE this car! Fun fun fun AND very practical running around to various photography gigs with my equipment and maybe even a second shooter or two. That all said, it took me about one week before I started modifying it.

The first thing I did was get rid of the all-seasons and put some Michelin Super Sports on it with some ECS wheel spaces/studs. Next, I installed an APR intake and COBB OTS Stage1+ and DSG Tunes. Recently, I installed an MAP downpipe (catted and resonated) and the MAP Stage 2 tune. The DP sounds awesome and the tune is pretty good. However, I'm taking this car to the track soon and looking to make a bit more power. Here are my plans for this big turbo build:

VTT GC Turbo - Rolled the dice a bit on this new product. We'll see what it can do...

BMS Intercooler - OEM replacement type

USP Drop-in High Flow Fuel Pump

Denso Colder Iridium Spark Plugs.

I'll need a new tune and I'm talking to Jon from 5150. Honestly, I would like the UM software, but I'm a bit invested in COBB at this point and don't have an extra $1,600 at this point. Perhaps, later(?) when I go e85 with upgraded high pressure fuel pump and injectors. For now, I'm planning to just run 93 pump gas.

I'll be updating this thread with the build progress, dyno chart, and track results when I get them. I know some of the vendors I've chosen have sparked heated debates on other threads. This one is just about my build and experiences. Thank you!

Twist1

Autocross Newbie