GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Tuned 1.8 Tsi long term reliability

danbfree

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2017 Golf 1.8 TSI
As impressive as that guy's dyno is, I won't be following in his footsteps.

Maybe I've got a dog 1.8 but use for AX creates lots of heat for me and I now and then see trim spikes above 50, simply running JB4 map 2 and modulating throttle at high rpms in 2nd.

Maybe it won't be an issue for him. I hope not.
You'd prob need an intercooler upgrade and for sure a high flow DP with an IS38 on a 1.8. There are ways to keep temps down for sure.... But the lag wouldn't be good for Auto X anyway, mainly roll racing, hehe.

TrippyStamps™

Car(s)
2018 VW Golf SE 1.8T
Answering OP’s question, I’ve been running APR’s stage 3 IS20 tune for a couple years now on my 1.8 Tsi slushbox. I have noticed some torque converter decline over the past year:

- slower shifts at high torque
- quite a bit more shake when letting off the gas, not as smooth

Engine reliability has been great. I think going IS38 would require forged components to guarantee reliability. But I do believe as a daily, the IS20 is a perfect match for the 1.8 Tsi

Dog Dad Wagon

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
16 Touareg TDI
Answering OP’s question, I’ve been running APR’s stage 3 IS20 tune for a couple years now on my 1.8 Tsi slushbox. I have noticed some torque converter decline over the past year:

Engine reliability has been great. I think going IS38 would require forged components to guarantee reliability. But I do believe as a daily, the IS20 is a perfect match for the 1.8 Tsi

Lol the bottom end on your 1.8 is the same as the bottom end on the Golf R’s 2.0 w/ IS38. No, forged internals are not needed for IS38. Shit, they aren’t even needed for a Vortex

MonkeyMD

Autocross Champion
I've been is38 running e40ish for 50k miles & was stage 1 before that. Currently at 140k miles. Fingers crossed, other than transmission issues and the ubiquitous water pump leak, engine been fine

TrippyStamps™

Car(s)