GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

TPMS Sensors for Aftermarket Wheels on Golf TSI

larf

Car(s)
Golf MK7
Hi!

2016 VW Golf 1.8 TSI S

I am quite new to this car stuff, so forgive me if this question is a stupid one but I recently purchased a new set of wheels from Fitment Industries. After receiving the confirmation stuff, they sent me a message which said that the aftermarket wheels and tires that I just bought would most likely need to have TPMS sensors installed in them. Is this true? If it doesn't need TPMS sensors please let me know what I should do. Thank you!

golfdave

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 Golf GT Estate
Don't need them...MK7 & MK7.5 Golf has "indirect TPMS"....it works using the existing ABS reluctor rings in the wheel bearing unit....

To get actual TPMS sensor on each alloy is the "Direct TPMS" systems..these are usually on the top end models eg Tourag & Phaeton, Audi A8 etc...

All you have to do is "reset" the system via the infotainment screen when you fit the wheels back on...even taking a wheel off & not placing it exactly bolt hole to bolt hole back on will mess the previous learnt values up...

larf

Car(s)
Golf MK7
Okay, cool! So, I wouldn’t need to buy the TPMS sensors and I can just install the new wheels as easy as that and just reset the system in the infotainment system after installing?

golfdave

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 Golf GT Estate
Okay, cool! So, I wouldn’t need to buy the TPMS sensors and I can just install the new wheels as easy as that and just reset the system in the infotainment system after installing?

I'll repeat..:- there are NO TPMS sensors on the wheels........Yours is an "Indirect system" as it uses the existing ABS sensors on the wheel bearing which is part of the hub/strut unit..

VW (ERWIN) self study on the MK7 Golf systems:-

1685871159038.png

kevinkar

Drag Racing Champion