GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Polish/Wax Starter Kit Recommendation Needed

swcrow

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
7.5 GTI
I'm on Autopia-carcare and I'm an idiot.

I have a Porter Cable and need a polishing pad (stage 1 only) and wax application pad, but have NO idea which is the best pad (what the crap do the colors mean?) to get.

Also......any good polishing and wax recommendations different than Griots polish and Collonite 845?

I posted this separately because I'm not as detailed as riceburner or others.....this needs to be basic fo sho

TIA

MSH

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
'20 M2 Competition
I've been using my old 7424 Porter Cable off and on for almost 20 yrs now. Used a bunch of different product along the way but here's what I'm going with on my Golf R for my first ever go with ceramic coatings.
I have used both orange Lake Country orange CCS pads and Rupes yellow pads for one step correction in the past. I think either of those would be perfectly fine for what you are looking for.
This year after Decon w/ Carpro Iron-x & Claybar I'll be using Sonax Perfect Finish with a Rupes yellow pad.
Last year I used Jescar Micro Finishing Polish with the yellow Rupes pad before applying Sonax PNS.
For waxs or sealants I always have applied by hand using small pads like this one from Detailers Domain... https://www.detailersdomain.com/col...ators/products/uber-yellow-wax-applicator-pad

swcrow

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
7.5 GTI
I've been using my old 7424 Porter Cable off and on for almost 20 yrs now. Used a bunch of different product along the way but here's what I'm going with on my Golf R for my first ever go with ceramic coatings.
I have used both orange Lake Country orange CCS pads and Rupes yellow pads for one step correction in the past. I think either of those would be perfectly fine for what you are looking for.
This year after Decon w/ Carpro Iron-x & Claybar I'll be using Sonax Perfect Finish with a Rupes yellow pad.