GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

New Golf R Owner mk7.5

peeta

Car(s)
2019 Golf R
If you're happy with the stock power for now, just upgrade your handling and stiffen it up a bit and get better tires. Code in some comfort features (mirror dip, windows down with key fob) aesthetic upgrades or add a JB4 to start if you're worried.

That's exactly what I was thinking. It's not like I'll be tracking this car anytime soon or anything 😏

peeta

Car(s)
2019 Golf R
This is sound advice, OP. I’ve been running a JB1 Flawlessly on my R since 2017. It gives it some much needed spunk for the type of driving I do.

But after 3 years, I’m brining my car in to HPA today (9am PT) for my full Stage 2 project.

And since, you mentioned warranty. My car is a 2016, bought CPO in 2017. I spent almost $5000CAD on an extended warranty (5 additional years) thinking I’d keep it stock (thanks Petrolicious). Turns out, money just comes out my ass randomly.

Good luck!

Damn bro upload a video when you're done! I wish I shitted gold nuggets. But that would hurt 😆

CarlosCanizares

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
Mk7 Golf R
Damn bro upload a video when you're done! I wish I shitted gold nuggets. But that would hurt 😆

Haha. Ok, for a little more context...

I plan on keeping the R for as long as I can, so I got the warranty. 3 years in, I decided to go another direction.

My wife and I don’t have kids, aren’t rich/from rich families or make a ton, but we live WELL within our means. Both our cars are fully paid, own our condo and have a 3+ year rainy day fund.

If circumstances were different, I would’ve kept my Stage 2 Mk7 GTI (which I traded in for the R in 2017).

peeta

Car(s)
2019 Golf R
When do the new wheels arrive? 🤭

(sorry for hating, it's not you, it's Englishtowns)

I heard these stock wheels don't last a long time, so whenever these go :giggle:

Anyone have issues with spacers? I'm trying to get 10mm front and 15mm back - would these rub with stock wheel/tires?

peeta

Car(s)
2019 Golf R