GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Mk7 Golf R vs MK6 GTI Stage 1

GolfGTI2014

Passed Driver's Ed
OK...

I assure you that I am not trying to start a big debate here but I would appreciate some insight from the knowledgeable folks on this forum.

I own a 2014 MK6 GTI with a Stage 1 Unitronic flash. Earlier this year, I purchased a 2015 Golf R. I still own the GTI, but my daughter is the its regular driver so I rarely use it at all.

I have been racing and tracking cars for more than 20 years and am also a BMWCCA instructor.

This morning, I spent about an hour driving the GTI. My honest observation is that the GTI is a much more spirited, nimble and hate to say it but ...fun, car to throw around. I have no data to support it but I would say that it is quicker in many ways.

I will be on track with the Golf R next weekend...so I will have more data.

Anyone out there have similar observations or insight? Does the Golf R need a flash to give it more of an edge?

Thanks

RjRacing

Go Kart Champion
I think the GTI is just lighter and has more low end power, that's all you're feeling. Stg 1 MK6 GTI and MK7R are equally as fast from a roll and the MK7 is a better chassis all around. I would encourage you to take a MK7 PP GTI for a spin if you think your MK6 is fun... its even lighter than your MK6, has more low end power and the VAQ diff makes it that much more nimble, reactive and fun :)

GolfGTI2014

Passed Driver's Ed
Thanks... I appreciate your assessment. Makes me seriously question the extra 20K I paid over the GTI (used). [Maybe a rainy track weekend will change my mind]

jmlivid

Go Kart Champion