GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Manual Transmission Redline

elamothe15

Ready to race!
I am fairly new to driving a manual transmission and I am just wondering about redlining the MK7. As I'm sure most of you know, there are two redline thicknesses on the tachometer. One is at approximately 6000rpm and the other is at about 7200rpm. I am just wondering how safe it is waiting to shift within the “first redline thickness?” For example, say shift around 6300rpm.

My car has about 4500 miles on it now, so it is past the break in period. The most I have ever pushed it is about 5500rpm

LG3MK7

Ready to race!
I usually shift like 6,500 car pulls like a beast uptop

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk

BxGTI

Go Kart Champion
I am fairly new to driving a manual transmission and I am just wondering about redlining the MK7. As I'm sure most of you know, there are two redline thicknesses on the tachometer. One is at approximately 6000rpm and the other is at about 7200rpm. I am just wondering how safe it is waiting to shift within the “first redline thickness?” For example, say shift around 6300rpm.

My car has about 4500 miles on it now, so it is past the break in period. The most I have ever pushed it is about 5500rpm

Are you planning on redlining a lot or this is jus a once in a while thing? Just keep in mind that this is not a race car just keep that in mind especially if you are new to manuals. Enjoy the car
In my case I drive kind of fast but I redline once in a blue moon.

Garynovis

Ready to race!
I've gone up to 6,800 but losing power there

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk

Looking at a dyno chart, and being much cleverer than me, surely it is possible to pick the optimum shift point?

If a gear change drops the revs by, say for example, 1,000 revs, and the maximum BHP (assuming that is the correct figure to be using, occurs between 5,000 and 6,000, then 6,000 is the shift point?