GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
  • Has your username changed as part of the site merger and want it changed back? If the other version of your username isn't being used, send Gulfer a PM and we can probably fix it for you

Looking for a good set of tires!

Captain_kid

Hey guys. I’m new to owning a VW GTI MK7 and am looking for a good set of tires that won’t break the bank but can perform well. Please help out I greatly appreciate it! Thanks!

lou06483

Ready to race!
you'll get LOTS of opinions on this---
FWIW-I would recommend the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. YES they're a bit pricey but work very well. I use them on both my Audi S4 and GTI.
I use to be a big fan of Continentals but finally tired of the excessive tire noise when the tires start to approach 1/2 of thread depth---I changed the DW's on the GTI to the PS 4S when there was a bit more than 1/2 of the thread depth remaining---The Audi wasn't quite as bad as the GTI but in the VW it was sounding like a bad wheel bearing.....
The gut at the tire shop though I was crazy---I had the GTI in on a Monday and the Audi on Wednesday of the same week....
It's the old adage----you get what you pay for....

Captain_kid

you'll get LOTS of opinions on this---
FWIW-I would recommend the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. YES they're a bit pricey but work very well. I use them on both my Audi S4 and GTI.
I use to be a big fan of Continentals but finally tired of the excessive tire noise when the tires start to approach 1/2 of thread depth---I changed the DW's on the GTI to the PS 4S when there was a bit more than 1/2 of the thread depth remaining---The Audi wasn't quite as bad as the GTI but in the VW it was sounding like a bad wheel bearing.....
The gut at the tire shop though I was crazy---I had the GTI in on a Monday and the Audi on Wednesday of the same week....
It's the old adage----you get what you pay for....