GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Intercooler pricing: Unitronic = IE in performance?

Luva

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
2020 GTI SE
I've been running the Unitronic intercooler for 2 months now. No issues on the install nor on the performance side of things. Yes, I geeked out and looked at Jeff's test data (mygolfmk7.com) on various intercoolers prior to going with Unitronic. I figured it didn't really matter too much who I went with - as long as I went with a reputable name, the fit-up was simple and the price was right.

So here's a bit more on the real-world performance side of things. It's nearly always hot in Florida. Typical weather pattern for where I live is: hot or slightly less hot. I have yet to feel any heat soak, even after taking her to Sebring for a track day in 90 F weather in March. Let me repeat that 90 F weather in March! Ugh. Anyway, so we're talking about full throttle blasts nearly continuously for 30 minutes x 4 sessions = 2 hours of nearly WOT. The Unitronic IC held up just fine under these conditions, even while running an EQT stage 1.

hotbascosauce

Drag Racing Champion
Car(s)
19 GTI SE DSG W/DCC
Not a fan of the BMS unit from what I've seen.
Curious. How come? Theyre on sale right now from their Ebay store at USD 480.00 with free shipping, as opposed to +USD 45.00 shipping on their website. I have been debating on which intercooler for a long time now. I originally ordered the Amazon Gplus one but ended up returning it before installing. I considered the CTS/ECS/ARM FMIC too.

Is the USD 700.00 Unitronic one really USD 200.00 better than the BMS? But at the same time, the CSK/Majesty is up to USD 380.00 now. Is the BMS USD 100.00 better than the CSK/Majesty? Fully aware I'm talking way too much for you Diggs.

Last edited:

Chogokin

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
GTI Sport | Audi A3
From what I've read about the BMS IC's is that the first gen had some fitment issues.