GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

How to classify Stage 1, or Stage 2 Tunes?

up4speed

Go Kart Newbie
Car(s)
2015 GTI
As the title states, what constitutes a Stage 1 or Stage 2?
I feel like there are so many variations of aftermarket add-ons, that there are no 2 cars alike! LOL

My 2015 (non PP) GTI has (or will have very soon):

- JB4 Map 6 (slightly stronger than Map 2)
- 034 Turbo inlet pipe and 034 Inlet hose
- Ultimate Racing 3" ceramic catted downpipe
- ECS Front Mounted intercooler
- NGK Ruthenium spark plugs

Based on those mods, is my car considered Stage 1 or Stage 2?
And for the experts here, what should my approximate HP and Torque be on my car?

Last edited:

KyACRASH

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
2015 GTI 6MT, 04 R32
I'm no expert, but from my extended time on this forum I can tell you the general consensus.

"Stages" are actually subjective, Stage 1 is commonly referred to as just an ECU flash. Stage 2 is an ECU flash that requires a free flowing downpipe. Most tuners have a different answer for Stage 3.

Technically you only have a JB4, and although a Map 6 can be equivalent in power levels to a common Stage 2, it's actually only thought of as a "piggy-back", because the ECU has not been flashed.

Striker23

Go Kart Newbie
I would say stage 2 would be a more aggressive tune specially designed to take advantage of an aftermarket downpipe. At least on a turbocharged car. A NA car would be a different combination of parts and a more aggressive tune to use those parts.

up4speed

Go Kart Newbie
Car(s)
2015 GTI
I would say stage 2 would be a more aggressive tune specially designed to take advantage of an aftermarket downpipe. At least on a turbocharged car. A NA car would be a different combination of parts and a more aggressive tune to use those parts.
So in other words, my setup is a Stage 1?
And what would/should my approximate HP and Torque be on my set-up?

DSC808

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 GTI SE MT