GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Helmet vs. non helmet WITH airbags

R Golf

Go Kart Champion
There was a whole lot of yelling, name calling and other nonsense when someone posted a video of them on track while not wearing a helmet. I've been track driving and instructing on and off since 1998 and have never seen any technical study showing that helmets improve safety while driving a car equipped with airbags. There has been a lot of intelligent discussion, but I have yet to see any real data one way or the other.

I worked in the semiconductor industry and sold our parts to virtually every airbag manufacturer in the world. The specs on airbags are controlled to silly tolerances. As far as I know, none of them are calibrated to the driver or passenger wearing a helmet.

I'm not interested in anyone's opinion. They're a dime a dozen. Just a very simple question. Can anyone lead me to data that shows the benefit (or not) of wearing a helmet in a car equipped with modern airbags?

Not leaning one way or the other, just curious because I've found nothing.

johnnloki

Drag Racing Champion
"DATE:November 16, 2004 FROM:National Staff TO: All Participants SUBJECT: Airbag Advisory It has been brought to the attention of SCCA Technical Services that the use of full-face or closed-face helmets while driving vehicles with active airbagrestraint systems may result in injuries in the event of a crash that deploys the airbag. Because of the location of the steering wheel relative to a driver’s position, the airbag axis is on a level with the driver’s chin. In a crash with airbag deployment, contact with the chin area of a full-face helmet can be so powerful “that the risk of fractures to the jaw cannot be ruled out“ (Hubert Gramling, FIA Institute, FT3/AF, 18.5.1999)."

It's been a while, but it looks like the regulations were changed around the use of full faced and closed face helmets due to Hubert Gramling's findings in the early oughts.