GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Golf R Full Track Prep?

M3bs1

Go Kart Champion
I have a fully prepared E36M3 that I have been tracking for over 20 years now, and I'm starting to get bored with it. I'm still finding ways to get faster in it, but it is becoming apparent that 30 years of chassis design, engine performance, suspension, and braking development make a difference. I've taken my stock Golf R out a few times now, and have been impressed with how well it did stock.

Has anyone here gotten serious with track prep? I'm talking gutted interior, seats, harnesses, cage (or at least roll bar). Plan would be to tow it to the track, not drive it. I've seen numerous brake and suspension upgrades, but not much more.

I've looked at going the ZL1 1LE or GT350/R route, but those cars are just so big and heavy. GT4 is lots more money, and only slightly faster than my M3 in it's current state. Just wondering what the potential is for this car to run with the big dogs with the right preparation. I know the VW Motorsport TCR is capable of the kind of performance I'm looking for (Youtube video has one doing about 1:30 at RdAtl), but they are GT4 money..... Sure would be fun to run down a well driven GT350 in a Golf!

kch

Passed Driver's Ed
Car(s)
19 R DSG; 15 BRZ s.b
This doesn't really answer your question, but if I were going to make a dedicated track car, I'd focus on something simple, easy to repair, and RWD. Too many things to go wrong with a mk7 R IMO.

Have you considered a C6Z? N/A, huge aftermarket support, tons of people with track experience on the platform, etc. Things can be seriously quick. Here's a vid of a guy I know setting the TT1 record at my former home track (RIP TWS). https://youtu.be/XQqXm2F6eLk

Navi

Autocross Champion
This doesn't really answer your question, but if I were going to make a dedicated track car, I'd focus on something simple, easy to repair, and RWD. Too many things to go wrong with a mk7 R IMO.