GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Enable and Configure Advanced Bi-Xenon Lighting, MK7 Golf R

ICmaker

Passed Driver's Ed
Please allow me to introduce myself. I’m a retired electrical engineer with a passion for cars. I was a heavy unit Porsche tech until age 35, when I went back to school and ended up working in Silicon Valley for 25 years. I bought my daughter an M6 2016 R last summer. When my 2010 Corvette began to require too much cash infusion, I sold it and bought my own DSG 2017 R in January.

Here I offer my first contribution to the community - an OBDeleven edit that will unchain your neutered, weak-assed Bi-Xenon Scheinwerferen in about ten minutes. I’ve tested it on my 2017 R and on my daughter’s 2016 in multiple versions and have pages of notes from test drives, pictures of different modes, technology papers from Hella, YouTube videos, etc., but I present the edit here in the simplest form possible to limit confusion and churn.

This is not the only functional configuration, but it’s the best I’ve tested so far. Some of the features it enables: missing AFS beam patterns; adaptive horizontal beam cutoff for same flow and oncoming traffic concurrently; distance beam (Fernlicht) beginning at 55 kph with extended AFS steering response.

I recommend either running the $1.50 OBDeleven app or coding to make auto light control persistent.

happy trails….

ICmaker

Legal (Not DOT approved; for off road use only.)
Setup (Parked on level surface; OBDeleven; ignition on; current consumers off)
Restrictions (Driver Assist cars only, OEM; a homelink mirror will support the function in the absence of DA)

(2016) (Turn on light assist for the 2016)
A5 - Front Sensors Driver Assistance – Coding
Select: AFS__coding_Light_Assist
Change to: High_Beam_Assist (default for 2016 = no_Light_Assist)
Execute (green check)

09 - Central Electrics – Adaptation (Enable selection via menu)
Select: Assistance light functions