GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Electronic Parking Brake (US model)

BxGTI

Go Kart Champion
Interesting... I've been driving manual transmission cars for over 15 years- I pride myself on good technique. Always shake my head when I read "money shift" posts because good technique makes it totally avoidable. I've never felt the need for this "auto hold", even on STEEP inclines, but it's nice to hear that it's now built in. I thought it was a function of the electronic parking brake, basically the park brake is doing the "auto hold" for a few seconds when necessary, so I do not sure how it is activated/works on US cars with manual park brakes. Maybe it's the regular brakes being electronically activated?

I also know how to set my side mirrors so that I don't have a blind spot. I know lots of people like to see the side of their car in the side mirrors but that isn't where they should be aimed. I don't really need blind-spot assist, but it's another one of those "cool" electronic nannies that gel a lot of people who never learned how to set up side mirrors properly.

What I see is all the little "automated" ways control is being given up in cars. First it was very nonchalant - cruise control, power steering, remote key fobs for locking/unlocking, auto dim rear view mirrors, then keyless entry, electronic parking brakes.