GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

EDC light questions while pushing it

zetapsi827

Hi all.
I looked around this and other forums for answers on this and can’t seem to find any.

i have been tracking my mk7 PP GTI MT for 3 years now. I never had an issue the first couple years. This year I am much faster than when I first started and I am whipping that car around the track pretty good. My last 3 events the EDC light has come on and the car goes into limp mode. Can’t go above 4k RPM. But I por, turn the car off and back on. Light goes away and the car works as normal.

I am getting frustrated I can’t push it any harder for fear of the light and damage to the car.

Does anyone know why this is happening and how to prevent it from happening?

car is stock, no mods except brake fluid and pads.

Thanks

zetapsi827

Where would I get one?

I called the dealer to see if they can run the diagnostic for me on it. They said they wouldn’t be able to find anything unless the light was on.

they claimed the error codes were not saved in its memory or history.

victorofhavoc

Autocross Champion
Where would I get one?

I called the dealer to see if they can run the diagnostic for me on it. They said they wouldn’t be able to find anything unless the light was on.

they claimed the error codes were not saved in its memory or history.

You can also get an obdeleven from any of the big VAG retailers (shopdap, urotuning, ngp, ecs, map, bmp, etc). The dealer is full of it, the codes go back as far as needed until they're cleared. It even records the rpm at which the code was thrown, elevation, time, and some other data.