GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Downshift question

Captain_kid

So I’m new to owning a GTI, I got a 2016 DSG and I’ve noticed that when the car is in sport mode and it’s down shifting the rpms will reach 2k then shoot up to 3k before downshifting to the lower gear, which causes the car to jolt a bit. Is this normal? Never driven any other GTI besides this so I can’t compare myself. Thanks for the reply’s.

It's Sam

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
X3 M40i
That's...weird, based on how you described it.

In sport mode, (assuming the DSG is also in sport mode), It does downshift at around 2k, and that can slow the car rather suddenly, because of physics.

But, based on what you're saying, it's revving and then downshifting?

The car is still shifting itself, correct? You aren't touching the paddles or shifter?

OldVWFan

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
17 GTI Sport
Don't have a DSG, but does it try to rev match as it downshifts?

Captain_kid

That's...weird, based on how you described it.

In sport mode, (assuming the DSG is also in sport mode), It does downshift at around 2k, and that can slow the car rather suddenly, because of physics.

But, based on what you're saying, it's revving and then downshifting?

The car is still shifting itself, correct? You aren't touching the paddles or shifter?

This is correct the car still down shifts but when it hits 2k it quickly revs to 3k and you can hear it and see it. and it causes the car to sort of jolt. If this site lets me I can film it on my iPhone and post it if it’s iphone friendly.

jimlloyd40

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2018 SE DSG
Yes it feels like it’s rev matching from what I’ve heard rev matching is. I don’t own or ever driven a manual lol

It isn't rev matching it's just the engine RPM's rising because of the shift to a lower gear. The jolt so to speak is just the quick rise in RPM's which is really braking the car as you decelerate.

It's Sam

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
X3 M40i