GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Cylinder 4 misfire

tluley51

Passed Driver's Ed
The car has about 86k on it and it began misfiring about a month ago. I researched it and thought most people on here say there's really no cause for concern until it throws CEL/EPC light...Well a few weeks later, the EPC light came on which led to the CEL tripping. Restarted the car, EPC went away and CEL stayed on for about a week then went away. About 2 weeks later, exact same thing happened. The EPC light would trip either on cold start or rarely, maybe 2 times, under load going like 50MPH. To add, I have been running the Neuspeed Power Module for about 6 months...Everything on the car is stock.

I took the Power Module out and I took it to my local shop and he figured it was the PCV valve causing issues. Its cheap enough too so why not. Replaced that and immediately got a CEL when pulling out from the garage, misfire on cylinder 4. Now I dont remember the exact code, I don't own a OBD2 reader myself. Once the mechanic cleared it, the CEL stayed off for 4 days and it was running...okay? But it tripped again yesterday.

My next step after reading these beautiful forums, lets try coilpacks and plugs. I bought the RS ignition service kit from ECS (8v RS3 ignition coils and RS7 spark plugs). I did the install even though I am a total noob, super easy install. Started the car and it immediately started to idle better, but the engine wasnt 100% cold so I was skeptical. I drove it around like 2 or 3 miles, ran great.

I went back out to get some food about 3 hours later and a buddy of mine stayed in the car while I went to get food, CEL light is on all this time btw. As I come back to the car from getting my food, the car sounds funny...I get in it and see the EPC light on and the car is misfiring like a son of a bitch just like it did before I replaced the PCV valve and the coilpacks and plugs.