GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

CQuartz UK on New Golf R?

RobDMB

Passed Driver's Ed
Recently picked up my new VW Golf R in Onyx White. As its winter here in the northeast, I thought it may be a good idea to get a coat of wax/sealant/coating on the car for some protection. I reached out to a few local detailers and one indicated he installs CQuartz UK which would be $425 if no paint correction required (he would review car to finalize quote). A regular sealant would be cheaper.

Was wondering everyone's thoughts if this price is fair and best course of action. Not thrilled about paying $425, but I don't really have a setup where I can do washes/waxes in the winter. I could wait until the spring but then the car would be unprotected until then. Also, if it truly lasts 2 years maybe it is worth it.

Thanks!

Billy Baldone1

Ready to race!
I am a Pearl Nano installer. Base and Top coat, plus Windows, no paint correction is 550 for most cars, 700 for SUVs. Wheels off coated plus calipers is 200 extra. CQuartz UK is an Okish coating. Finest will cost you around 800-900. So I think 425 with a 1 step polish is a decent price

TroyScherer

Ready to race!

CQUK is good stuff and I have had it on my wife's Jetta for nearly 3 years. When treated properly and taken care of it really is good stuff.

If you go looking obviously you can buy the product for cheaper. But what you are paying for is a professional to do the proper prep and application and work. As a weekend detailer myself I see $450 as fair. If you have the time and tools you can do it but paying someone else will cost.

RobDMB

Passed Driver's Ed
Thanks. I'm inclined to go forward. Sounds like it will make my maintenance a lot easier over the next two years.

PouncingPanzer1

Go Kart Champion