GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Coilovers or Aftermarket Struts + Springs for Daily Driver?

Which suspension to go with for lowering + comfortable daily driver?

• BC Racing BR Series Coilovers

Votes: 3 5.9%
  • KW V1 Coilovers

Votes: 1 2.0%
  • KW V2 Coilovers

Votes: 1 2.0%
  • KW Street Comfort Coilovers

Votes: 4 7.8%
  • Koni Yellow + H&R Lowering Springs

Votes: 10 19.6%
  • Bilstein B8 + H&R Lowering Springs

Votes: 19 37.3%
  • Other

Votes: 13 25.5%

• Total voters

TheContender09

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
Golf R
Glad I found this thread because I’ve been wondering the same thing. Sounds like EQT coilovers are worth seriously considering. I was leaning towards some bilstein b8’s with neuspeed or eibach springs.

Here’s a question that weighs into my decision…which route is easier to install? Coilovers or a new strut/shock combo? I’m no expert mechanic so if one is definitively easier than that would play into my decision. My approach is always to try to take apart as little as possible so as to have the smallest chance of messing anything up 😂
Springs/strut combos are easier to install. If you go with the coilover route and they have camber adjustments, you will have to cut your strut towers to be able to use the said adjustments.

225A006D-DC84-4A47-A1D4-B7EF5595806D.jpeg

AzTRgti

Ready to race!
Car(s)
Mk7.5 GTI
Springs/strut combos are easier to install. If you go with the coilover route and they have camber adjustments, you will have to cut your strut towers to be able to use the said adjustments.

View attachment 228382
Oh shit I didn’t know that! Makes sense tho. I found a urotuning strut/shock install kit that comes with all the hardware and mounts/bearings. Says I can do the install without having to take the stock assembly apart just unbolting it.