GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Bringing an MK6 back from the grave - My Mk6 Story

ToMMyGuN

Go Kart Champion
Hello all. I have been following this forum for years, and decided to finally join tonight. This is post numero uno for me.

I have always admired the GTI for its blend of sport, luxury, and practicality. I remember watching as the MK6 was revealed, and remember lusting after one for most of my college years. I graduated last December with an undergrad degree in mechanical engineering from UW Madison and a new "real-life" job.

I have been interested in getting into a GTI for the past year (I have been driving a 2001 Pontiac Aztek GT for 12 months..), but I also told myself that my next car would be something different. I didn't want to go drop $25K+ on a car, and I am not a guy that finances vehicles. I wanted an MK6 GTI, and I wanted a good deal. The car I wanted would be CSG, with a DSG, 4 doors, and include Dynaudio, Leather, and Xenon's. I could care less about Nav or sunroof, but with how VW has bucketed the options, it looked like I would be forced into an autobahn package if I wanted anything other than a 2010.

I have always liked the idea of a salvage vehicle. The risk involved is high (and is what scares most away), but I like fixing things, and getting a good deal. The missing warranty is scary, but not as scary as missing a warranty and not being able to do your own work. I thought that what ever car I got next, it would be a salvage vehicle.

Well last Thursday I found this, and by golly I bought it. It's a 2012 GTI in CSG, with 4 doors and a DSG. It has all of the options I wanted (plus KESSY, sick!), and it only has 5300 miles (pulled a vin check, it was salvaged at 5300 in Virginia). When all is said and done, I hope to be into it ~$15k, not including any money I get from selling the 'tek.