GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

APR Plus - worth it?

benjbark

I figure this has to be a topic that's been discussed here before, but a search yielded nothing for me.

I'm a VW newbie here and just got my 1-year service for my 2018 Golf TSI (1.8T), which now has 9,300 miles. I was speaking with my salesman while my car was being serviced (he's got a Passat GT - very cool car) and he told me about APR Plus and its powertrain replacement warranty, which sounds very enticing to me. I've considered APR tunes in the past, but was always turned off by voiding my factory warranty.

So, is it worth it? The potential numbers they put up are really impressive (HP 170 --> 234, TQ 199 --> 273). I don't plan on doing any other mods. There's a dealership locally that is APR-certified, so I figure I could go to them for all warranty needs and let them hash things out with APR.

Obviously the concern here is finger-pointing between VW and APR and me being stuck with repair costs despite an active warranty. I'm sure there are nightmare stories and I'm sure there are success stories, so what's the consensus? Thanks!

Jedimk7

Drag Race Newbie
What prevented me from getting it was just try getting a hold of them on the phone or email, I could not. Now try to get a hold of them with a blown motor....all the APR dealers I talked to said it wasn't worth it, and they were authorized dealers!

Sent from my Gavin Belson black box signature edition

ZuMBLe

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Alltrack 6MT
The APR Plus tune is the Stage 1 87 Octane tune. The extra money is basically insurance money. You're essentially paying for peace of mind. Only you can decide if it's worth it to you.

A stage 1 87 octane tune will really wake your car up and is very safe. Chances of the tune blowing your car up are very slim. You decide if you want to just do the normal tune, or pay a premium for the "insurance".