GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Anyone Use Liqui Moly MoS2 Oil Additive?

AtlantaDad

Drag Race Newbie
I'm at a little over 80k miles, and hearing some lifter noise, so thinking about throwing a can of MoS2 in with my upcoming oil change. Anyone use it? Is it safe to use in our engines? I'm thinking it can't hurt, but I'm no expert. I never even played one on TV once.

Also, Liqui Moly Cera Tec is twice as expensive, but is it worth it?

Ps. I'm begging you (yes, you) not to turn this into another "which oil" thread. And I don't care about $100 additives. Let's just talk about Liqui Moly MoS2, and/or Cera Tec (or things in that ballpark). TIA!

anotero

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 GTI
I'm at a little over 80k miles, and hearing some lifter noise, so thinking about throwing a can of MoS2 in with my upcoming oil change. Anyone use it? Is it safe to use in our engines? I'm thinking it can't hurt, but I'm no expert. I never even played one on TV once.

Also, Liqui Moly Cera Tec is twice as expensive, but is it worth it?

Ps. I'm begging you (yes, you) not to turn this into another "which oil" thread. And I don't care about $100 additives. Let's just talk about Liqui Moly MoS2, and/or Cera Tec (or things in that ballpark). TIA!

What's lifter noise?

sprinks

Drag Racing Champion
There's lifter tick if you listen closely to some mk7 engines. Typically on cold starts, in my experience. i've used both mos2 and ceratec. I noticed immediate change in engine noise (reduced lifter noise) with the mos2. The ceratec was nice but not as noticeable immediately (no surprise tbh). I'll probably toss a thing of ceratec every few changes as recommended.

anotero

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 GTI