GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Advice for new gti owner

rizyk

Car(s)
2017 mk7 gti sport
Hey guys,

A month ago I purchased a 2017 mk7 gti, and I am in love with it. Super comfortable, good power, crisp manual gearbox, etc. The previous owner put in a milltek downpipe and a jb4, which definitely gave the car a great boost in power (not really like it needed it tho) and an amazing sound. I have, however, been interested in selling the jb4 and instead going for a new tune and also purchasing a cold air intake. I don't wanna spend a crazy amount, but I do want to get some moderate power gains. I was pretty interested in the APR Stage 1 tune, but as I am pretty new to working on cars like this, I'm not fully sure of the process or what I should do. As for intakes, I am completely lost. Some people suggested that if I get an apr tune I should go for the apr intake, and although I don't doubt the quality, it is definitely a lil bit on the pricier side. I'd say my budget for both the tune and the intake to be around 900 use (I could probably make 400 from selling the jb4) but I could push it up to 1000 if needed. I am really new to all of this for gtis (the only real experience I had in one was when I was a toddler because my dad had a mk2 back in the day) but also cars in general; my last car was a stock 6spd 128i that I really didn't tinker with at all. I would really appreciate all the advice you guys could give!

Thanks!

Rennwagen

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2016 GTI
With a 900-1k budget here's my advice.

1. Find out if the previous owner upgraded the clutch.
If they didn't, save your 1k and be ready to buy one.
If they did, move on to step 2.

2. Go with a Cobb Accessport from EQT. Black Friday sales are going on now and you can get a great deal. Don't use the preloaded tune. Pony up and get the custom tune, it is well worth the money. Black Friday sale will help.