GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

2019 GTI SE

jimlloyd40

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2018 SE DSG
you guys seems to know a good deal about this buying process. This is my first time buying a new car. I'm putting together a list of all the dealers within a couple hours of me that have what I want. Plan on getting email contact for each one and sending a single email to all asking the following:

Including a few dealers in this email, I’m interested in purchasing a new car by the end of next week. I’m shopping around for the best price on a "car details here-". Please provide a price with a breakdown of all fees. I also would like to be informed of any rebates or incentives that are available.

I am preapproved for financing but open to financing through the dealership if you can provide a better rate.

Does this sound like a solid plan?

Sounds pretty good. Watch out for the finance department because that is where they will try to sell you an extended warranty at a high price. They will tell you the car has multiple computers that cost big $. I bought a Toyota one time and they started out at $2300 for the extended warranty and I kept saying no and ultimately came down to $600.

Strange Mud

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Assorted
use an alias email! what Jim said about the add-ons.

just before you sign try to get an extra key. Full tank of gas...No dealer stickers on car. Everything in writing!!!!

Golfer883

Go Kart Newbie
Car(s)
19 GTI rabbit
You guys had any luck with dealer swaps or do they normally try to stick bunch of shipping charges on you?

vj123

Autocross Newbie
Car(s)
19 & 16 GTI - sold
You guys had any luck with dealer swaps or do they normally try to stick bunch of shipping charges on you?

Depends on your dealer and sales guy.