GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

2016 GTI Journal

Aomer

Car(s)
2016 GTI SE 4DR
Once upon a time I owned a 1984 Scirocco and I loved it, but it seemed to spend a lot of time in the shop. It was a blast to drive and my 1st car, new one at that. I got it after I graduated from college. I did own it for close to 12 years and got 197,000 miles or so out of it and then sold it for parts. I am pretty sure it was never on the road again. RIP. Drove it into the ground in northern VT which is a place not easy on cars. No complaints on it. Like I said it did spend some time in the shop.

Fast forward to Sept 2022 ... I haven't owned a VW since and decide to get into AutoX and pick up a fun daily driver as well. Enter the 2016 GTI. I bought it off a young man who is the 2nd owner. It's a white SE 4DR with the performance package. It's got a number of mods: APR Stage 2 Tune, Unitronic Intake, AWE catted downpipe with both Track and Touring exhaust, SouthBend Stage 2 Daily Drive clutch. It has some cosmetic other bits.

I love driver this car daily, it reminds me of the Scirocco, but a way better car.

I take it to the airfield for a AutoCross event and after run 3 of 10 it starts throwing engine codes (Oil pressure and Cam Position). I have OBDEleven so I could get the details. Car seemed to be running okay however :) and decided to drive it home. Ran okay for several days with no codes and then I went to drive home from work and it had trouble starting and then died and wouldn't idle. Drag it to the dealer and they shotguned a few sensors and finally dropped the oil pan to find one of the thrust washers in the bottom and metal flaked oil.