GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Carbotech XP10 fitment issues - 2019 MK7.5 Golf R

ironicbadger

Ready to race!
Car(s)
19 MK7.5 R EQT Stg1
Next weekend I'm doing a track day at VIR and am needing some advice on some fitment issues I'm having.

This is for a 2019 MK7.5 Golf R. Stock calipers.

I ordered a set of Girodisc 340mm rotors, XP10 front pads and XP8 rears from Pete at 529innovations. However the XP10 pads are rubbing on my Girodisc hats (see pics). Pete's been helpful in getting Carbotech to send me a replacement set of front pads - the pictured set is my second set which seem to be exactly the same as the first set which also rubbed. I'm a novice to this stuff but the gaps at the top of the XP10 pads just seems enormously huge to me. Carbotech maintain that there need not be a spring clip because "race car stuff". The inner radius of the pad rubs on the hat not the leading edge of the pads. They've sent me two sets of pads that both don't fit right - ct1633 is the carbotech part number.

Anyone else here run XP10s and Giros? Am I doing something wrong or do Carbotech need to add a clip? Or do I need to buy a hardware kit or something like this?

My other option is to find a set of pads that can stand up to VIR next weekend that I can buy in time to have them here for Tuesday so I have time to fit them.

Attachments

• IMAGE 2023-05-20 12:35:10.jpg
    IMAGE 2023-05-20 12:35:10.jpg
    122.7 KB · Views: 68
  • IMAGE 2023-05-20 12:35:12.jpg
    IMAGE 2023-05-20 12:35:12.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 65

DerHase

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2019 GTI Rabbit
Go to a parts store and look for pad hardware that looks like this:

https://www.autozone.com/brakes-and...jeOCAigZZpkJyuiRUZBoCklEQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Unfortunately that doesn't let me reverse look up the application, but I worked for Carmax for 14yrs and can't for the life of me remember what the application was.