GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Why is the German aftermarket community/support so strong?

yantastic

Passed Driver's Ed
Just out of curiosity, why is the online market so strong with the German car market? What I mean is that there's companies like FCP Euro, ECS Tuning, EUROTuning, that offer aftermarket parts across a large variety of euro cars within one location.

A few of these companies also have some very high quality video DIY content that really makes ownership a little bit less scary and easier. As an example, I'm a total noob when it comes to DIY, but I just did a brake fluid flush on my MK7 GTI and the help from the DIY videos is tremendous.

JDMs have some very brand specific sites like Subbiespeed, is there something I'm missing?

golfdave

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 Golf GT Estate
VW, Mercs, BMW etc. are sold in more countries around the world than many other brands....therefore your sales market for parts is far greater.

coniglio rampante

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2019 GTI Rabbit Edit
VW, Mercs, BMW etc. are sold in more countries around the world than many other brands....therefore your sales market for parts is far greater.
Agreed.
Think of the millions of Golf’s (to name just one model) of all types that have been sold over the decades, and heck, Merc’s/Daimler’s have been in heavy use as taxi’s in many countries let alone as personal use vehicles.

At the other end of the sales spectrum, the Miata community has a couple of very good vendors (Flyin’ Miata, Good-Win Racing, etc.) but it’s a car in a niche market wherein Mazda (one of the smallest manufacturers) is happy/ecstatic to sell 10,000 units per year.

Last edited:

tarheelbob

Ready to race!
Car(s)
2021 VW GTI S