GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

IE, Unitronic, or COBB tune?

Nerdy Oreo

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 Gti S
Hey guys, first post here. I am new to the auto tuning and modding scene and this is my first car I get to work on and I am super excited to learn and jump in. I went through the forums and wasn't able to find a good direct comparison / recommendation when it comes to figuring out which stage 2 tune to go with. Originally I wanted to get the APR stage 2 tune for 93 but since it's no longer available I've had to look elsewhere.

I have a dsg Mk7 with a CTS Turbo downpipe (with the cat), CTS Turbo inlet elbow, IE V2/3 Intake without the carbon cover, and I have an ECS dog one mount and insert. I am also waiting to pick up the CTS Turbo cat back and I'm also STILL waiting for my $1400 stimulus check (which will be for an intercooler).

I am hoping to hit the 340hp range and the 340ft-lbs of torque range with my is20 along with the (quite immature, yet cool in my book) "pops and bangs". I'm trying to figure out if anyone has experience with these 3 tunes and any advice with them. I will be pairing it with the high torque dsc tunes from those 3 companies as well. I live in an area where COBB protuning is hard to come by so I would have to use ots tunes.

Last edited:

max_power

Go Kart Newbie
Intercooler before you do anything else.

I went IE originally against my better judgement and am now switching to Cobb w/ SneekyTuned.

There wasn't anything that I hated about IE, but like always I ended up wanting more.

Nerdy Oreo

Go Kart Champion
Car(s)
Mk7 Gti S
Intercooler before you do anything else.

I went IE originally against my better judgement and am now switching to Cobb w/ SneekyTuned.

There wasn't anything that I hated about IE, but like always I ended up wanting more.
I haven't heard of SneekyTuned, would you be able to give me more info on them? Or direct me to a thread that explains their tunes?

CaptainRatty

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
MK7 GTI